The last couple of weeks….

….. have seen me busy in my studio, by far the warmest place to be as it is buggering cold outside. In no particular order I’ve been doing the following.

Mark Gardener
After a little chat after my performance in Oxford earlier this year with Mark Gardener, in which we both expressed an interest in doing something together we finally managed to make a little time in our schedules to make it really happen, something that in my experience never usually happens when you are talking to someone after a concert. So I was especially pleased when I picked him up at the airport and during the journey back to my place we talked about many common experiences in this cruel and unjust business that we both choose to spend our lives dabbling in. No, not the music business (which, of course, is cruel and unjust) but living in France where we have both spent about five years. Mark, however, had the good sense to move back to Oxford recently, but I choose to stay on here, as a public service, collecting little gems of French stupidity to post here from time to time. Sad to say, I must be getting naturalized as I’ve not found too many things to bitch about here recently, but I put that down to the fact that I’ve not been going out much rather than that the French attitude towards efficiency has improved. Anyway, we eventually got round to talking about music, there being a longstanding mutual appreciation. In fact our paths had crossed back in the days when I was in Cocteau Twins and he was in Ride but I guess we were probably too fucked up on drugs to have been able to make much sense to each other. However that was then and this is now. The drugs have gone and from time to time we make sense.
No, really. . .

mark%20and%20robin.jpg

We only really had two days to work together so we decided just to write and complete one song, which we did beautifully, a little pop song called the places we go. I haven’t the faintest idea when, if ever it’ll come out but I would imagine that we’ll do some more together in the not too distant future as it was a pleasure both both on a musical level and a personal one.

School of Seven Bells
I was asked a little while ago to do a remix of a track My Cabal by the School of Seven Bells from New York who I previously hadn’t encountered. I like the track a lot but, surprise surprise, I like my remix even more.. Well, you know, I hope they like it even more as well… It’ll be available soon on Sonic Cathedral…

Mitsuo Tate
My friend Tate san came to visit from Tokyo and I was very happy to see him as it has been some time since he’s been able to share his, most individualistic, views on the world, you know, why the Japanese are better at everything and that kind of a thing. We messed around in my studio a little, just talking bollocks about sound equipment and, more amusingly, everyone else we know. It was fun. Then he got the screwdriver out and proceeded to start stripping down my effects pedals and photographing the insides, a new oddity indeed for Mitsuo, already known for several odd things including a fetish for teenage gymnasts, a love of the group Kiss and bizarre facial hair. I suspect that he’ll be taking the photos back to Japan and designing miniaturized versions of some classic effects pedals and will shortly be selling them back to me.
But for the most part we just ate and talked shit.

meandthejap.jpg
we looked like this, excuse the odd angle, my five year old took the picture and she’s just little….

cote-de-boeuf.jpg
and we ate this.

Alsace Lorraine
A couple of months ago I did a remix for Alsace Lorraine, the brainchild of one Paul Francke featuring the vocals of Argentinean singer and artist Isol previously from Entre Rios. I, er, sort of, butchered their pretty pop song, as is my way and turned it into a, sort of, ballad which was half the tempo of the original and, well I liked it. . . . (Stop me if you see a pattern emerging here). . I guess they must like it as well as they’re putting it on their album. Anyway this week has seen me putting the finishing touches to mastering the album, Dark One, which will be available on Darla Records sometime soon..

Colour Kane
Can’t forget about this as well, Colour Kane from Belgium entrusted me with mixing a track for them called Seaside Dreams. I’m hoping that they didn’t feel that I butchered it. Well you know, this time I don’t think I did, well not in a negative way. These artists, foolishly give me the freedom to interpret as I see fit and the end result always comes out slightly different to what they send me, hopefully not disappointing , but indeed evidence of me being a control freak with an ego the size of a small country, say, Belgium, for example.
Or maybe I’m being over sensitive.. 🙂

So you see, I’ve been busy. ok

23 Responses to “The last couple of weeks….”

  1. Robin:
    Thanks for making such great music. I can’t stop listening to Continental.

    I wrote a review about it on my blog (http://manuelhp42.blogspot.com/2006/12/continental-by-robin-guthrie.html) and in Amazon.com.

  2. i’ve been listening your 2006 solo Continental , and it sounds great Robin, your guitars are always always great!

  3. Nice to see mention of Mark gardner.

    I had stumbled across Ride’s Nowhere album the other week under the seat of my car and thought “hey this album is fucking brilliant and i have not listened to it in ages” and have had it on constant rotation since.

    Would love to hear that song you guys put together…

  4. Ahhhh, flank steak! Tate san has good taste in gymnasts. Will these pictures of his show up in a ‘Pedalboy’ centerfold, january pedal of the month….’ahhh, she has nice looking germaniums!!!!!!!

  5. neal pickle Says:

    thanks for the update, robin. hope you have happy christmas.

    quick question: what kind of reverb pedal, processor, etc. did you use when recording Imperial?

    thanks, again.
    np

  6. The Japanese are better at everything because they approach whatever they do with ultimate respect, passion full attention and humbleness. they can make art out of anything, striving for refinement of the “artist” both as perceiver and actor while taking into consideration even the empty spaces between things, together with the invisible Energy that these empty spaces let pass through…i mean, ideally speaking.

    R, France

  7. Happy Holidays and a Happy and Prosperous New Year!!

  8. Happy New Year and a Very Happy Birthday old boy! Looking forward with anticipation to getting my hands (and ears)on the new collaboration with Harold in the upcoming year. Best wishes…

  9. HAPPY NEW YEAR!

  10. I just got your album Ever Lasting and I am enjoying it. Even though I wish there were more for than just four tracks alone on it.

  11. robin guthrie Says:

    Well, Everlasting is an EP .. Hope you didn’t pay album price for it…

  12. Um, I thought it was available as a 45…..oh, wait that’s not the Everlasting format…that’s your age….happy birthday, halfway to 90! Rock On Mr. G.

  13. Cedric Caspesyan Says:

    Happy Birthday, Robin. May all your wishes come true.

    Happy Birthday to myself too as we are born on the same day (I’m 10 years younger).

    Been a fan since 1984, keep lurking on here once in a while.

    Your music is incomparable and a great influence.

    Chers,

    Cedric Caspesyan

  14. HAPPY NEW YR and BIRTHDAY
    we capricorns are a moody bunch

    just downloaded the whole lot
    it’s like putting up new wallpaper inside my head

    thanks Robin
    nyc 07

  15. late Happy Birthday (sorry) to you Robin from Randi,Robin and Markus from Hamburg.

  16. I hope that if you should ever find yourself in the state of Ohio possibly playing maybe in the Cuyahoga County Cleveland area maybe possibly at the Cleveland Play House on Euclid avenue in downtown Cleveland. I hope you shall do what is necessary to alert me and the rest of us with plenty of advance notice, so we may sufficiently jam the Cleveland Play house full of people right down to the very last seat. Or maybe you could consider playing at the Blossom festival for which is in Summit County in the state of Ohio. It is a more out door enviroment (The Cleveland Orchestra play here) in which the quality of your sound might not sound so trapped inside of the locked containment of theatre. In anycase if you tour through the United States. I hope we see you here.

  17. I am wondering who among your musical net work of friends you might be fond of. Are there any compact discs that you listen to in your lap top computer or inside of your automobile. Is there someone whose music or their lyrics you have found recently amazing. What does your array of compact discs look like at your home in France. Does your young daughter enjoy your music

  18. Happy Birthday guy, I hope Mark got the card in the post on time… I was just looking at some photographs the other day and came across my photos of the last time we visited, Mark holding a stick of French bread ha ha ha! It would be so cool to visit again, I’d love it if it was this year… say hi to the Bay Area for me, I’ll be there soon enough meself.

  19. edmur maia Says:

    Happy Birthday Robin.I wish you joy and hapiness for this year and the next 45.

  20. Hey, Old Man – I went to Yoga for the first time yesterday. If you haven’t done it, Oh My God… I had probably 12 cups of coffee over the course of the day before going in and at the end of 2 hours… Seriously, it’s cheesy as fuck, but I’m kind of speechless.

    (The mental discipline part kinda sucks, though. Every time the lady would tell us we’re a “mountain” or say the word “chakra”, I couldn’t help thinking, “Oh, just shut the fuck up…”)

  21. Andy from Arizona Says:

    Wot, no vegetables?!

    Hi Robin.

  22. Nothing to say other than came across your blog whilst listening to Victorialand on itunes when I should be writing. I’ve had your music with me ever since leaving Motherwell as a 22-y-o in 1982.

    Cheers

  23. madamesamai Says:

    Hello Robin!

    Long time no hear! My bad.

    I am so excited i had forgotten all about this journal… tons of work you been doing. See you are pretty much the same servant of the muse!

    I am terribly excited about you ‘twins’ coming soon! Very, very cool… tres tres cool.

    Okay.. it’s ME! Kimberly… gotcha! Yup got married wanted to surprise you. So you’re surprised now!

    So back to the pressing matters… when can we hear this set? I have a great feeling about this and you have no idea how badly i need that ??? back… excited i am!

    Age becomes you!
    Seriously you are looking mighty smart… never imagined you would grow up so gracefully! Never thought i wouldn’t?!

    I am going to peek around abit and get a feel for your past that i have lost track of…

    Miss you ~ kiss you!
    More babies?
    O! i have to read, i know you tell stories and i can be swept away for hours reading what’s been going on.

    So happy to see you working hard still and looking so damn sexy… top job!

    Your friend ~ kimberly da cali/forni

Leave a Reply

