Er….

OK, I suck, I know I said I’d write this every day but I’ve not got online up until now, I swear… So now I’m sitting in my vehicle, outside someones house in exeter, stealing their bandwidth…
So what can I tell you?
Well, firstly, I can say thanks to those of you who have made it so far.. Goodness knows how I thought I could write something about these shows each day, my days have been very full and I seem to have little time for anything. It’s kinda really fucking weird playing this show in some of these cinemas, don’t know how I can explain that better but I’ll try. I guess at a regular show one has time to prepare all the equipment in the afternoon, soundcheck and then mentally prepare for the event…But at these cinemas, I’m being slotted in between United 93 and The Da Vinci Code. Therefore I wait around until everyone leaves the cinema, dash in, set up then play right away without even enough time to consider things like fly checking or whether or not the film plays properly or not …. This would probably explain the startled rabbit in the headlights look that I imagine I must be wearing.. The good thing is there’s less time to panic. The bad thing is there’s less time to prepare.. Or maybe vice versa, I can’t quite tell anymore.
Now the things which help to make the performance work, you know the sound and projection systems, have been very, er… variable in quality, to say the least, which is something very frustrating but ultimately beyond my control so we’ve all had to endure a couple of shows which have not gone exactly as I would have liked them, notably the sound problem in Liverpool, which in a state of the art theatre like that was inexcusable – something to do with their DVD player apparently, and the DVD messing up in Stratford, repeating parts over and over, thus making me play for what seemed like hours….
Hey, I forgot to tell you what was enjoyable… Sonic Boom joining me for a little randomness after one of the shows…
Oh, and then there’s the Q&A session afterwards… ummm, odd but strangely fun.. It’s nice talking to people about the only thing I’m actually qualified to speak about, namely me me me me me .. And it’s all the same questions that I would be asked normally after the show anyway…. And reminds me of being in group therapy a little so that’s not such a bad thing. Never forget that what you think my film is about speaks more about you than it does me. I say that especially to the young lady in Liverpool who found all my imagery phallic….
What else? Well, England is unrecognisable as the sun is shining. Sadly people here find that an excuse to strip off and I think that after wintering on pork pies, beer and chips they ought to exercise a little more restraint. I’m kinda starting to miss things from home already, the novelty of the UK has worn off a little but it has been absolutely lovely to see some old friends and converse with the locals without being covered in spit. Still don’t want to live here though….

48 Responses to “Er….”

  1. So you’ve finally met up with Sonic Boom, eh? I’m so glad to hear it… I hope there will be a beautiful collaboration with the two of you one day…

    ~Amber~

  2. birdsong Says:

    Hi Robin
    I caught up with you in Oxford and enjoyed the show enormously, even if I didn’t understand the film entirely. Most of it worked for me, some didn’t but that’s the way of things.
    You didn’t seemed rushed and I think it all went well from where I sat, even if it was shocking poor in terms of attendance!!
    The Q & A session was fascinating, and yeah, you did seem nervous but then I couldn’t have doen it so respect to you for that! You made a classic reference to John Foxx as a “repressed choir boy” that Rob Harris (of metamatic) and I found hilarious and acutely well observed.
    Did Foxx turn up at the gig in Bath by the way – you seemed nervous that he might be in the audience?

    Best wishes for the rest of the shows – and thanks for the Continental album. It’s great music for lying on a hillside too watching Honey Buzzards.

    Take care

    Martin

  3. Thanks for the fabulous set at Exeter where the sound and visuals seemed fine from where I was sitting – sorry I had to kick you out of my seat!
    Thanks for sticking up for myspace and for taking the time to answer our questions. I only hope that the attendance and that woman who couldn’t hear you won’t put you off venturing down towards the west country if you tour continental – just stop off here when you get off the ferry. Oh and thanks for playing some tracks from the new album even though you said you probably wouldn’t. Wonderful stuff.

  4. Do the people in Exeter have anything “interesting” in their “shared docs” folder? If you don’t have time to write something, you could always post a series of found “objects.”

  5. when are you and daniel playing here. my gear is lonely.I’m fit to be ready.

  6. Sorry Mike – Love to oblige but I’ll perhaps advertise my ignorance by saying I don’t know what you mean?!

  7. Radioorange Says:

    Just come away from the Duke of York show in Brighton. Thank you Robin, I really enjoyed the show. Glad to be able to play Continental and the ep’s at long last. Liked the q@a session, shame we had to shout tho. Nearly wetted myself plucking up the courage to ask a question. All in the fun i guess. Thanks for a lovely show.Love the web log. Best wishes and good night.

  8. Matthew Bailey Says:

    Wow, loved the show last night at Brighton’s Duke Of York’s, it really blew me away!

    Sometimes a minor technical hitch is a good thing, ‘cos it reminds those of us “in the zone” that there’s a bloke up there playing this stuff for us. Sound and vision meshed beautifully – apart from the slight comedy moment at the end when the film ended the curtains closed and the lights came up. Like a trooper RG played on to the finish. Top marks, what a pro!

    The only downside? I missed my chance to cop a look at your set-up because I don’t do fan stuff and would have been embarrassed, so if you could let me know what’s in your rack please ; )

    Thanks again
    Matt

  9. luci & russ Says:

    thanks for a beautiful evening at Duke of Yorks,so nice to be in a room and a space with no artistic bullshit,just the moment,could have sat there for a lot longer….hope the camping was good,a lovely night for it.love,peace & smiles.hope the last two shows go without a hitch.x

  10. Hi Robin,

    Caught the Bath show – entrancing. The film and the music worked really well together. I’ve been playing the new CDs since the gig – they’re lovely. Hope to see you back in the South West again when you tour with a full band as you hinted you might be doing on the website.

    Cheers, Joe.

  11. Hi Robin,

    Thanks so much for a great show at the Gate in London (Monday June 12).

    Lumiere was mesmerising, a great foil for your music. Just a shame the DVD stuck a bit towards the end – but you kept the music coming, that’s the main thing!

    Also, loved those songs you played with Emma from Lush and later your keyboardist during the second set, it felt liked you’d properly relaxed into the occasion by that point.

    I just wish that the sound could’ve been LOUDER – but I understand that was maybe down to the venue, and the lack of a sound desk.

    Also, was miffed at the poor attendance I thought at the London dates youd be totally sold out. Im sure the potential was there for the event to sell out, given the right promotion which I dont feel the Picturehouse shows had.

    All in all though, a wonderful night. Thank you again, and I hope you return very soon for another tour

    Best wishes,
    Tim

    PS. I couldn’t help noticing you chatting briefly to Kevin Shields outside the venue. Got me thinking later, what an amazing collaboration that would be – is it anything you’d consider?

  12. funny Tim you should mention a collaboration with Kevin Shields – what with the Lumire final at the Ritzy, Brixton this evening, replete with it’s special guests, I suppose anything could happen…

  13. mike@york Says:

    you don’t want to live here?? don’t honestly blame you!

    kicking myself cos I’m working away from home this week and “Continental” is (I am told be a colleague back in the office) sitting on my desk waiting to be played!!!!

    still, all good things come to those who wait! hope you feel motivated to come back to these shores to play again – perhaps with a band as you intimated elsewhere?

    good luck!

  14. Mrs. Piossek Says:

    All lucky you having had the chance to see a show from Robin …Robin, do you come us? after all the English have gone, after the world cup? 🙂

  15. It’s funny, I used to think of Cocteau Twins as Liz, but now I think of it as something Robin used to do. Love Continental and Mysterious Skin, but am spending serious time with Imperial. Serious time….
    It’s so minimal and lovely, I put it up there with Another Green World. It sounds so raw for music that gets classified as ambient.
    Keep rockin in the freeworld, Yo!

  16. tg in seattle Says:

    hey kids, robin will be doing a live performance today on the radio here in seattle with an interview as well. you can hear it streaming live at http://kexp.org at 4pm seattle time, which is midnight london time. he’ll hate me for posting this but it’ll be after the performance before he knows i did it, so robin if you don’t like it kiss my ass 🙂

  17. mike_in_York Says:

    Continental! Finally got to listen to it and what can I say, words evade me! I’m speechless, as I listen to it for the third time in a row!

    on your “Myspace” site, there’s a track called “Flicker” which I would love to have but can’t trace a means of obtaining it? can you direct me, please?

    good luck for the future

  18. hahahaha I know exactly what you mean by “delayed weblog”. Im trying to keep one too, but theres so much thing to do… I just got your latest release and Id like to tell you (even if you really dont give a damn of who am I)that I was really enthralled by such a beauty… wow! ConTInental is as beautiful as Cocteau Twins’ Victorialand…
    I could say that if a dream could have a sound, this is how it sounded…
    Congratulations for this new jewel in your crown!
    You posted that the scheme of shows in a certain way have disturbed you, mainly because you are a perfectionist person (is this term right in english?), and this way of doing it is more or less like jumping from a plane with a parachute (you cant go back and theres no one there to hold you if things go wrong).
    But on the good side of this, we learn how to manage our anxiety and how to defeat some inner ghosts…(I know what Im saying because Ive been through something similar)
    On the bad side, theres less time to prepare, but the whole thing gets more personal and spontaneous. And that is fantastic when youre talking about music, especially that intimate/dreamy kind of sound that you make
    Dont be afraid of errors/mistakes. Some of them can make the best soundscapes you ever imagined.

    Just like that oldo Abba’s song, Id Like to say: “thank you for the Music”. Enjoy the shows… were here if you need us.
    Best regards 😉
    Pendragon

    (PS: Im sorry for any type mismatch or nonsense words…its because english isnt my mothertongue)

  19. vanderlei nunes Says:

    Hello, Robin, I’m looking forward to your launching those two EPs that will accompany “Continental”, so I can buy the 3 of them in a go. I’d like to know what became of your colaboration with John Knoxx about which you posted back in November. And by the way, have you still been working with Simon at Bellaunion?

  20. Hi Robin, May I say you do not suck. I recently bought “Continental” and I am totaly Loving it. “Imperial” was stunning, But the new disc is just breath taking. “Monument” takes me to a emotional high. absolutely fucking love it!!! Thanks for making my year Robin.

  21. Jim Mason Says:

    Hi Robin

    Continental is pure bliss. It reminds me of those fantastic melodies you used to come up in the rehearsal rooms above the Queen’s in Grangemouth all those years ago.

    Guitar and POD2 just about to be plugged in to see if I can recreate the sounds if not the tunes.

    Jim Mason

  22. Vincent Says:

    Thanks for giving us the impression Mrs. Fraser sings on Crescent… Is it just an impression???

    Your KEXP 90,3 live performance and interview’s so good and facinating!

  23. marcello Says:

    I love Spacemen 3 and Sonic Boom, too bad Spectrum seens to be not active anymore…

  24. starfish Says:

    Please blog more often Robin! Continental is really an amazing record. I like it as much as anything you’ve ever done, and that’s not meant to lessen anything that has gone before. Thank you for this record. Have a nice day! 🙂

  25. Hi Robin
    Maybe you have been asked this b4 but do you get writers block? how do tunes appear to you? in waking hours or what?

    Regards
    Matt

  26. Hi Robin,

    Just got home from your show in the Sugar Club Here in Dublin,
    Most enjoyable. We spoke briefly afterwards, check out the guy i was telling you about, Tom Heasley, he plays Tuba !!

    http://www.tomheasley.com

  27. Hey, just thought I’d say again that Continental kicks ass! How’s VI stuff coming along? Take your foot off the jamman and your hands off the neck for a moment and key us in on the prolific journey…..

  28. dear robin,
    i smoked all your cigarettes, fucker.
    love, habnk
    p.s. can’t stop listening to continental.

  29. edmur maia Says:

    Dear Robin
    Would you like to work again with Lawrence Hayward?I`m asking you this because I know how much you enjoyed Felt.

  30. Mattieu Says:

    hello,

    i’m writting to you from Paris, France.
    i’m working on a book project and that’s why i’m getting in touch with you.

    i’m trying to get in touch with Robin Guthrie… can you please give me his contact or forward him my e-mail ?

    I already have contributions by Daevid Allen, Mark Arm (Mudhoney), Chris Baliley (The Saints), Barry 7 (Add N To X), Pete Bassman (Darkside/Spaceman 3), Andy Bell (Ride/Oasis), Bob Bert (Sonic Youth/Pussy Galore), Stuart Braithwaite (Mogwa), Jean-Jacques Burnel (The Stranglers), Gina Burch (The Raincoats/Red Krayola), Chris Carter (Throbbing Gristle), Will Caruthers, Charlemagne Palestine, James Chance (The Contorsions/Teenage Jesus & the Jerks), Rhys Chatham, Billy Childish (Three Headcoats), Peter Christopherson (Throbbing Gristle/Coil), Clint Conley (Mission of Burma), Cosey F Tutti (Throbbing Gristle), Paul Cox (Too Pure Records), Dale Crover (The Melvins), Robin Crutchfield (DNA), Tom Cullinan (Quickspace/Faith Healers), Mark Cunningham (MARS), John Danielle (The Mountain Goats), Ana Da Silva (The Raincoats), Deerhoof, Stanley Demeski (The Feelies/Luna), Eric Drew Feldman (Captain Beefheart/Pere Ubu), The Electric Prunes, Mark E Smith (The Fall), Jad Fair (Half Japanese), Bob Fay (Sebadoh), Pat Fish (The Jazz Butcher), Don Fleming (Dim Stars/Gumball), Eric Gaffney (Sebadoh/Fields of Gaffney), Mark Gardener (Ride), David Gedge (The wedding Present), Andrew Gill (Gang Of Four), Michael Girra (The Swans), Vic Godard (Subway Sect), Paul Haig (Joseph K), Jennifer Heremma (Royal Trux), Herman Dne, Terry Hessels (The Ex), Tom Greenhalgh (The Mekons), Robert Hampson (LOOP/Main), John Holmstrom (Punk Magazine), Hugh Hopper (Soft Machine), Jenny Hoyston (Erase Errata), Hans Joachim Irmler (Faust), Jonathan Kane (The Swans), Ivan Jullian (The Vovoids), KAS Product, King Congo Powers (Gun Club/The Cramps), Kramer (Shockabilly), Wayne Kramer (MC5), Daniel Johnston, Brad Laner (Medicine), Jon Langford (The Mekons), Jason Loewenstein (Sebadoh), Gary Lucas, Lust Mord, Colin Newman (Wire), Tony Mainmone, Marlene Marder (Liliput), Gillian McCain, Mac McCaughan (Superchunk ), Richard McGuire (Liquid Liquid), Legs McNeil (Punk Magazine), Glenn Mercer (The Feelies), Roger Miller (Mission of Burma), Dieter Moebius (Cluster), Bob Nastanovich (Pavement), Anton Newcombe (Brian Jonestown Massacre), Sean OHagan (The High Llamas), Buzz Osborne (The Melvins), Stephen Pastels (The Pastels), Mark Perry (Sniffin Glue Fanzine), Robert Poss (Band Of Susans), Pram, Kurt Ralske (Ultra Vivid Scene), Lee Ranaldo (Sonic Youth), Bettina Richards (Thrill Jockey records), Michael Rotter (Neu!/Kraftwerk), Salaryman, Jon Savage, Russell Simins (Jon Spencer Bluex Explosion), John Sinclair (MC5 Manager/White Panthers), Nikki Sudden (The Swell Maps), Sonic Boom (Spaceman 3/E.A.R), Tobin Sprout (Guided By Voices), Poly Styrene (X-Ray Spex), Morton Subotnick, Ian Svenonious, Wharton Tiers, Mayo Thompson (Red Krayola), Daniel Tracey (TV personalities), Ari Up ( The Slits), Dean Wareham (Galaxie 500/Luna), Mike Watt (Minutemen/fIREHORSE), Steve Wynn (The Dream Syndicate), Doug Yule (The Velvet Underground), Yoshimi (The Boredoms), Peter Zaremba (The Fleshtones) …

    thanks,

    Mattieu Moreau

  31. graham chalmers Says:

    Hi Robin, it?s nearly eight weeks since I caught your brilliant live performance of Lumiere at York City Screen and I still can?t shake it out of my head.
    It was a beautiful occasion, not a word that springs up often at a ?rock? gig, music and images melting together to produce something bigger.
    One thing that surprised me about the film, as opposed to the music, was the amount of identifiable images from the modern world you used.
    Great as it is, it?s hard to put your music in concrete terms at the best of times and I?d expected the film to be completely abstract.
    In fact, it ended up as an emotional experience as your sound creations.
    At first I thought you were juxtaposing footage of flowers against machinery, landscapes against cityscapes, to make some point about the difference between the man-made and the natural.
    I thought you were saying man produced war and this was bad and nature produced flowers and a basket of light and this was good.
    Man came up with the idea for numbers and numbers led to machines and machines led to alienation and destruction.
    Then I eventually realised there was repetition in every part of the film, the natural and the man-made, that this was an essential part of the act of creation, that maybe things needn?t lead to an negative outcome even in this day and age.
    Perhaps I?m just getting carried away though. . .
    Please forgive me for these idle speculations. I could be grabbing at the wrong end of the stick as I did when I introduced myself at the end of the show in York and suggested I knew your brother Stuart when, of course, you never had a brother called Stuart.
    I would have looked a right idiot making a mistake like that back in unforgiving Grangemouth.
    Many thanks again for the stunning show and all the great music you?ve made and continue to make.
    Graham Chalmers, Harrogate, North Yorkshire (ex-Castleton Crescent, Grangemouth!).

  32. Andy from Arizona Says:

    Where are you, man? Hope you are well, wherever you are. Stop by and say hello sometime.

  33. edmur maia Says:

    Yeah.Please,dont leave us,Robin!

  34. Hopefully he’s on holiday teaching his little one how to eat pate`,smoke cigarettes and build sand castles in Morbihan……

  35. Jeff kandefer Says:

    Hey Robin it’s jeff from the Daysleepers! We dropped off myspace and went to purevolume instead. I like it better…more music oriented. check it out: http://www.purevolume.com/thedaysleepers

    Can you give me an email were I can email you some new material? We will be finishing up our new EP in September, I’ll send you some MP3’s. There is lot’s of Fender XII, Bass VI, and Jazzmaster sounds on the new stuff…hope you dig it. Hope to hear from you soon…take care!

    -jeff

  36. about that coffee…

  37. Well, Robin’s blogging is on hiatus, it would seem, but WAITING FOR DAWN is AVAILABLE ON ITUNES MUSIC STORE! That’s right, folks, you heard it here first… 😉

  38. jeff/curetwins Says:

    ok, this thing is never getting updated.

  39. Anonymous Says:

    Take your time,Robin.
    No hurry.

  40. van run out of gas??

  41. Ok. That’s it! Time to file a missing persons report!

    A

  42. Tonight on the BBC news website:

    “A major incident is declared after a chemical leak at Grangemouth docks, near Scotland’s largest oil refinery. As a precautionary measure, the public are being asked to keep windows and doors closed for the time being and stay inside.”

    Let’s hope Robin’s not gone home for the Summer…

  43. Lately I’ve been seeing Robin’s face on milk cartons….”Have you seen….?”

  44. Hi Robin,
    if you had to build an guitar fx set with a limited budget, what kind of stomp boxes or non expensive racks would you choose to approach your sound ?
    i saw you in Brussels in 94 i guess,and i ll never forget this concert.i taught , now i can die.
    happily i m alive and still very touch by your songs and your sound.
    so i try to do some music and going in your footsteps.i got a Guild starfire guitar,un mutron phasor, a verbzilla reverb and a reverbrocket Ampeg amp.
    can you give me some advices about how you use compression and overdrive and what is your favorite chorus fx model ?
    thanks
    Milk

  45. I’m beginning to think that Robin got into trouble at the airport during the UK tour in June with all of that electroninc gear (Eventide H3000, jamman, projector, etc. etc.) and is now being held in Guantanamo Bay based on profiling…you know, the beard, the accent, the dark clothing…..

  46. yo robin!
    greetings from melbourne, drop me a line,
    W

  47. Robin (or someone else managing his MySpace account) regularly logs in, including today (September 7), so he’s probably alive. Just not very verbal these days, which is fine, because we go to hear his guitar not his singing.

Leave a Reply

