Anatomy of a recording session : day 2

sf4.jpg

OK, I’m starting to think this was a stupid idea to write something about the session each night as I’m knackered and want to go to bed. However, I’m a man of my word so here we go… Breakfast was nice, as was lunch and dinner. We did some music as well…
OK, I can do better than that, I know but I worry that writing about the creative process is somehow redundant and perhaps not very interesting. My words are not enough to describe the highs and lows of the days, the highs being when a particular sweet note just hits the spot and sends you reeling, the lows being held up by an irritating technical issue whilst in mid flow. The highs being a rather splendid all meat burrito, the lows being the $50 parking ticket I got while eating said burrito. What Ever
Anyway the session is in good shape, much progress is being made, many pieces of music are being created, none perfected… Just exactly where we’re meant to be.. Now I’m meant to be in bed…bonne nuit

sf3.jpg

6 Responses to “Anatomy of a recording session : day 2”

  1. Mrs. Piossek Says:

    No, no, this is not redundant…it is always nice to read and ….see you and hopefully to hear the new creations soon. And that having something nice to eat is still important besides making music. think of you.

  2. Great Robin. Your work with Budd has been great in the past and I am sure this one will be as lovely as the previous. Sorry for the reference to the past but “The moon and the melodies” is never far from my player. I really love it. I have other work from Harold Budd. But they miss your guitar. So when I heard of your new cooperation with him i was thrilled.

    ciao et merci pour ton travail Robin, tu es le meilleux musicien du monde (si, si)

    P

  3. I think you’re right… there’s something special when the two of you play together. Thank you for sharing a little bit of this with the rest of us out here.

    I live near San Francisco. If I were still in my twenties, I would probably figure out where you’re recording and have you sign something, so perhaps you’re lucky to have fans that have grown up with your music and who still really appreciate your work.

    That said, I would gladly trade you a burrito for a rough demo tape. I may be older, but I’m still impatient!

    Best –
    Mark
    http://insomnia.livejournal.com

  4. I should’ve clarified:

    “so perhaps you’re lucky to have fans that have grown up with your music and who still really appreciate your work.” We’re less likely to hunt you down! 😉

  5. peanut gallery Says:

    Next time you buy that Budd fella’ dinner, try to negotiate a Guest Blog By The One and Only Harold Budd.

  6. wish i were a small particle
    drifting about you both
    dancing on the vibration
    of your sounds

Comments are closed.

