Anatomy of a recording session : day 1

sf1.jpg
me and tom, the engineer

I’ve mentioned this before but to fill those of you who were messing around at the back of the class, I’m making an album with Harold Budd and I thought I’d just post a few notes during the week as it may be fun and an interesting little souvenir.
So, here we are, in San Francisco after much organising, many miles travelled, a nightmare plane trip (which I’d love to share about but I’ve promised not to bitch about things here, especially things like other peoples fat obnoxious kids that eat crap for 12 hours on the plane and then throw up over you) and a very fine dinner last night which Harold paid for, here we are, indeed, ready to start recording an album together. This is the first day and usually the first day is an important one because it sets the tone, somewhat, for the recording session. We’re together in the studio for the first time in a long while and I’ve been impatient to get started.. All I can really say is that we’ve really just spent all day completely in our element.. It’s evident that, at this time, the sound of myself playing the guitar and Harold playing the piano just seem to belong together. Today we’ve just done a couple of pieces of music, as we had to spend a little time setting things up, more time chatting and drinking coffee and even more time waiting for some technical things to be sorted. It seems very organic and just right… Now, forgive me for being enthusiastic but I think this will be a fine piece of work…I know it may seem a little premature to say that but I have a feeling….. I don’t really want to go into details and describe what we are doing because, I guess, most people who read this will have a sort of sense of what the results may sound like so I’d rather just let our music speak for itself.. I’ll just say that it’s, well, piano and guitar… damn, I’ve given it away…
OK, I’ll try for some quality storytelling tomorrow, tonight, I’m done…
a demain

sf2.jpg
harold with speedy fingers

17 Responses to “Anatomy of a recording session : day 1”

  1. holdencalvo Says:

    twenty years ago it would be a dream to have so kind news from my most beloved artists, writed by themselves. I wonder you have a lot to enjoy working together, as we’ll enjoy your wonderful music. Thanks a lot

    from

    holdencalvo
    zaragoza-spain

  2. Robin,

    Glad you’ve arrived safely and that you two guys are at work on the new album. Looking forward with much anticipation to its’ release! Do keep updating us, please…

  3. Spoil us with more photos and recording session details, please.

  4. Silly Sally Says:

    I enjoy seeing these pictures!

    Sounds like you are having a ball :o) !

    I am chuffed for ya!

    And here is another exclamation mark!

  5. edmur maia Says:

    i read you`ll be doing concerts in england soon.i wonder if you are going to release a live dvd.i?d love to have a copy of lumiere dvd.

  6. So very looking forward to hearing this. Thanks for your thoughts. Enjoy SF!- greg

  7. mike from MI Says:

    Golden rule, man – you can only bitch about someone throwing up on you if you’ve never thrown up on anyone else.

  8. “It’s evident that, at this time, the sound of myself playing the guitar and Harold playing the piano just seem to belong together.”

    Yes, yes, and yes. Yay, Harold and Robin! (can’t wait to hear another one)

    🙂 🙂 🙂

  9. edmur maia Says:

    And what an inspiring piano… And what pretty damn good guitar!

  10. edmur maia Says:

    And what an inspiring piano… And what a pretty damn good guitar!

  11. hey robin. cant wait to hear this. how long will you be in SF?

  12. Quel plaisir et quel rconfort de pouvoir observer les grands matres l’oeuvre… Le lancement est prvu pour quand???

  13. Knights of the Round Table:

    Did our good friend Dennis Hearne pop some frames
    of the session?

    All the best …

    – gino

  14. birdsong Says:

    Great to see you two working together again.

    Can’t wait to hear the results.
    The whole Brighton thing was awesome last year.
    Did anything come of your recording with John Foxx?

    Superb stuff Robin, and thanks for sharing it.
    Best wishes

  15. Caty Tota Says:

    You guys are the 20045 best, thanks so much for the help.

  16. …ok…i was in the back of the class. so whats the latest? is there a release date in sight?

Comments are closed.

