So Many Things….

… have happened since I last was here.. Well what exactly?.. Well I’ve been working on a few things which I’ll talk briefly about later but first I feel the need to bitch about something as is my way from time to time (to time).. The first port of call would be La Poste which seems to be introducing a new tariff regarding the sending of CDs in the mail, or any other small package containing an item, and not a letter.. My local post bitch, who I’m sure is a very nice lady but for my purposes tonight is an evil capitalist nazi just informed me yesterday that as of April 1st I could no longer mail a cd as a small packet, as we say in the more civilised parts of Europe, but now it qualifies as a parcel.. Now sorry for being pedantic here, I know a small packet and a parcel may sound similar, even weigh the same, but there the similarity ends mes amis because while it costs around 2 euros to send a CD to the UK or USA as a small packet it costs 15 euros to send it as a parcel…mmm
For those of you who were not paying attention, I’ll go over the figures again..
Small Packet equalling a CD in a mailer, 100grams weight………two euros
Parcel, equalling same CD in same mailer 100grams weight……..fffffffffffffffifteen euros
So what’s the deal? Am I being misinformed? She assures me otherwise… as did the other local post office that I darted off to in order to prove PB wrong….
This means that if you live in my neck of the woods and are the type of fellow to make music and periodically have to send out a few CDs you had better start saving or perhaps approach the problem from another direction.. Lets say I have to mail out, say 50 CDs to the USA, you know promo discs and that sort of thing. Now if I consider that that would cost me 750 euros, (plus the cost of the discs and the mailers) and a return flight to New York being around 400 euros.. well you can see what I’m getting at, can’t you?
OK that’s just stupid….
If any of you frenchies can pop down to your local La Poste for me and verify if this is correct or not I’d be eternally grateful.
In the meantime I’ll be putting my house on the market.

So, that’s the bitchin’, now here’s the update…
OK, I’ve been mixing tracks for the forthcoming Mahogany album. Ive done three tracks, domino ladder beta, supervitesse and my bed is may castle and they sound just lovely. I can’t say it was the easiest session I’ve ever done, it’s always challenging to work with people when they’re on the other side of the ocean, but I think the end result is worth the challenge and that’s the main thing…
Mahogany are from Brooklyn NY and so are Apollo Heights who have just been here to mix a track for their forthcoming album, which is going to be a fine piece of work when it’s completed. They’re in Paris now doing preproduction for the album which I’ll be working on when I finish up with my present commitments.. What commitments? Well I’m going to California for a few weeks to record an album with Harold Budd which I’m really looking forward to.. I can’t remember the last time we worked together in the studio, I mean actually in the same room. Although Mysterious Skin had us working together Harold recorded his parts in Los Angeles and sent stuff to me via the internet… think the last time we worked was on The White Arcades but I may be mistaken. Anyway I have no doubt that we’ll come up with something mighty fine… Then what?…. Then I’m going to do some shows in the UK in June. I’ll be performing a version of Lumiere in selected cinemas around the country.. It’s a funny time to be playing, as I have my album Continental being released at the same time but I probably won’t be playing stuff from it as I am excited about the idea of performing that stuff with a band later in the year.. The show in the cinema is nice, though, but it’s a really different atmosphere from what I’m intending to do with the band.. Anyway, apart from the fact that I’ll be spending early summer driving up and down the M fucking 6 instead of sitting by the pool drinking margaritas, it should be fun. Then what? OK, then I’m nipping back to Seattle to do a very special one off performance which I’ll post here about once it’s been confirmed….
Been a bit busy getting the artwork together for my forthcoming album, Continental and the EP called Everlasting EP as well.. I’m making another EP called Waiting For Dawn which I’m going to make available to purchase only at my concerts… (unless, of course, no one buys them and I get stuck with boxes of them all over the place)…
OK, that’s it for now, can’t be arsed typing anymore…

15 Responses to “So Many Things….”

  1. “Lets say I have to mail out, say 50 CDs to the USA, you know promo discs and that sort of thing. Now if I consider that that would cost me 750 euros, (plus the cost of the discs and the mailers)”

    Maybe the trick is to send all of the discs and mailers to someone in the US, and have them send it off to the 50 different locations.

    If all else fails, it might be worth finding a company in France that sells CDs into the US market, and find out how they ship out their goods. Perhaps there’s a special business class of postage for such things.

  2. The Lullaby League Says:

    That’s sooo funny, cuz we have the opposite problem over here. Our PB, just yesterday, cut us a couple of hundred grams, which were over the two kilo limit (No, not your package). I think she has the hots for us, though. We did bring her some cookies from the bakery once, also.

  3. mike from michigan Says:

    Pictures are awesome and all but you playing w/a live rhythm section is f’ing priceless. I think you should snatch your daughter’s camera and replace it w/a matched pair of mics and a little stereo recorder…

  4. R.

    Don’t sell yourself short by only offering the Dawn EP at just your shows.There are many of us out here(myself included) who would love to purchase a copy but are not or will not be physically near any of the locations you will be playing at. If you had a PayPal account, I’d purchse one from you right now.
    In anycase, I hope you will have another venue in some other form through which the rest of us fans can get hold of your new release.Otherwise these CDs will get resold on Ebay for ridiculous prices and we both lose there.

    AF

  5. Robot Record Party Says:

    Robin-
    I’m glad to hear you’ve got some cool projects happening. That’s *sucks* about the postal price. It’s one thing to double the price, another to triple it, but it sounds like they’ve basically gone 7X on the fuckin’ thing.
    I’ll write you when your interview is up for air, should be just a few weeks.

    cheers,
    G

  6. Being a French expat meself (I try so hard to suppress any kind of French accent it’s become an obsession over the years), I’d say that it is tough shit for living in France! Seriously though, the Post Office are due to change practice over here in the UK too, but it’s more to do with the actual physical size of the package rather than about what it is. This sounds really tough and rather uncalled for. Perhaps you should go on strike of sending any kind of mail?…

  7. CarolCatgoddess Says:

    Robin…Bring all the CDs you can carry when you gig in Seattle & make an arrangement for a Seattle fan or another fan to distribute for you in USA. I can’t wait to buy your Continental CD and love the ambient stuff so much I put Flicker on my MySpace homepage. (Hope you don’t mind!) I hope you find a good place to live if you decide to move out of France. Why not try USA for awhile? You want to buy my house in metro Atlanta? Just kidding, but there are cool places to live in ATL, Austin as you know is cool, Seattle, Portland. San Fran, LA, NYC & Miami are all too expensive to live in, but all are also very cool places. I wouldn’t recommend New Orleans, it tends to flood there nowadays. 😦 Best wishes for every success Robin!

  8. Tempovision Says:

    Hey Robin stopping by to say hi, by the way will we be able to buy the Cd at Amoeba? in California?
    I hate to buy it online but if I have to oh well, I have to have it I like that one song monument its amazing !!! tannnannnannnnannnnnannnaannnnannnnnnananininininaaanannnnnnn, get my drift? LOL That’s what I was waiting for all these years, sincerely Jesse Tempovision.

  9. robin… Saturn, the planet which supposedly ‘limits and restricts’, just stopped dead at 4 degrees Leo on April 5th…that’s very nearly exactly opposite your natal(when you were born) Saturn position of 0(zero) degrees Aquarius….. and is proceeding forward to interact(a ‘square’ transit) with your natal Neptune(13 degrees Scorpio) and Jupiter(11 degrees Aquarius), which are already in a ‘square’ aspect, in July…
    this thing with the post office makes no sense and may just be related to the Saturn activity. if you find yourself experiencing these annoying glitches over the next few months, you might think of it just as the temporary influence of Saturn, whose job it is, according to the ancient ideas regarding this stuff, to slow us down. after July, Saturn will not be interacting with your natal planets again for about 6 or 7 years….. just try to remember, without the brakes, it’s not very safe to try to drive the car …
    you might be intrigued to consider, if the idea hasn’t presented itself to you already, that astrology fits beautifully into the matrix of the other sciences… numbers(mathematics)and all the various manifestations of electro-magnetic energies..sound, light, and color…..

  10. robin, in reference to my previous post, you might want to check out your chart at:

    http://alabe.com/freechart/

  11. sanfranciscojim Says:

    addition to my previous post regarding the coming transits of your natal planets: in summary, Saturn was just in direct ‘opposition’ to your natal Saturn, will be in direct opposition to your natal Jupiter the second week of July, and will ‘squaring’ your natal Neptune the third week of July. these aspects could be considered extra important because the relationship between your natal Jupiter and Neptune is one of almost exactly 90 degrees, a ‘square’ aspect, which is deemed the most inharmonious, or difficult aspect between any two planets. also, Mars conjoins Saturn at 8 degrees Leo June 17 and 18, and is in similar aspect to your natal planets as Saturn through the end of June. while you’re doing your tour, make extra effort to stay relaxed and focussed with deep breathing. don’t get upset about details going awry (like the video going dead at the SF show last November)…just play louder and faster!! be MORE deliberate while doing things that could be dangerous……be extra careful with intoxicants…
    i like to put a RED circle around ‘special’ days on the calendar, and think of them as one would the top of the mountain on a hike. i would recommend you put a circle around June 17 and 18, and another around the whole second week of July. then you’re at the top of the hill. the descending part of the trail requires much less effort.

  12. Robin, with all this astrological talk, sfjim forgot to ask about Uranus? How’s it doing these days?

  13. Like yourself, I’m an expat living in France.
    Officially, Laposte are trying to rip everyone off. However, if you go to a post office and use one of their machines you’ll pay the 1 to 2 euro fee for sending a letter. I’ve been doing it for the past few weeks and I’ve sent CD’s to Canada, the States and Germany.
    And there’s nothing they can do about it!
    Drop me your postal address in an email and you’ll receive a small packet in the post with an 0.80 EUR stamp on it and some nice music to listen to as proof!

    Andy

  14. starfish Says:

    Robin – just put it in a small packet and be done with it. In the States we have a similar book rate option. I once sent a kitchen sink (antique porcelain, no kidding) via book rate. What are they gonna do, open it up to check?

  15. Why not put Dawn EP for sale here for a limited period?

Leave a Reply

