random things that kept me away from the beach this week…

Ha, so here I am a week after pledging solemnly to update this thing every day. Well there’s not much chance of that happening for the moment as I very rarely wake up in the night with the thought ‘well, gee, darn it if I didn’t update my weblog today’. Having said that I will not retain any credibility if I continually tell folks that I am busy but produce no evidence to justify that excuse, thereby giving the impression that I may beat the beach being being entertained by a nubile volleyball team or sitting on the terrace reading my book and supping a margarita….
So, these are the random things that kept me away from the beach this week…(apart from the fact that it’s buggering cold here)

I’ve been mixing a track called Satin for I Don’t Mind The Air… It’s not finished.. but will be soon.

I have had Annie Barker here in my studio all the way from California, where I believe she may have been slightly warmer judging by the amount of socks she carries with her. I’ve been helping her realise and produce some of here music and have finished two songs so far, Gripped by that Leg and Mountains and Tumult.

I am mixing tracks for the forthcoming album by Mahogany. So far I have finished one, entitled Supervitesse and will be following this with another two over the next week or so..This session got me to start thinking about how one persons perception of how things go together in life can be so radically different to another’s. Without a doubt Mahogany, for example, have been very focused on producing songs to their satisfaction but at the last minute get me to mix them. Wow… what a leap of faith, thanks for having the confidence in me…

I’ve finished the artwork for Continental and sent it to the printers..

Oh, and almost forgot, I’ve made an EP called Everlasting
The tracklist is as follows..

1 bordertown
2 a sigh across the ocean
3 fountain
4 everlasting

everlasting-packshot200.jpg

I don’t know how I’m going to release this one, but just for today, I don’t really care. It’s quite a lovely disc and the powers of the universe will conspire to let it be heard at some point. The artwork has a photo taken by my daughter Lucy Belle who seems to have quite a good eye for a photo..

Ummm, what else? Well, I’ve been speaking with John Foxx about the release of the album that we have done together a couple of months ago. We are in the process of tweaking a couple of tracks, which can sometimes make me want to do the whole thing again so I am trying to practice a little discipline with this.. 🙂

I’ve also been doing something which needs the help of a teenager but my teenager in residence is too busy dicking about with her piercings and putting the word like into every sentence, like, twenty times…..The task in hand is figuring out why the hell I would want to be on MySpace and what it’s all about. I seem to have spent most of my adult life avoiding blatant self promotion so the whole concept is a bit alien to me. Why would I want to show the world how few friends I have? And who the hell is Tom and why doesn’t he get out of my face?. It’s weird, but in reverence to my teenage therapist, I’ve, like, put an exclusive song up there called Flicker so if any of you lot know what it’s all about and why I should do it then find me at my space, listen to my song and help me understand what it’s all about and why I should spend my all too precious time listening to that Tom person or whatever….

OK, for the moment, that’ll have to do. I just got a call from the girls volleyball team who are waiting at the beach for me…

7 Responses to “random things that kept me away from the beach this week…”

  1. Flicker shines 😉

    Though I have to admit that I have no idea why one should be there??

  2. French Tickler Says:

    I’m like lovin’ the heart-shaped handcuff photo.

  3. Wonderful track. Any change you might make it an MP3? I have been playing it over and over…..love it.

    Thanks,
    -S

  4. Robin,

    “Flicker” is a gem…thank you for sharing it with us.

    As for MySpace, it need not be about self-promotion. I am using it to find other musicians whose work I have come to admire and to network (though I loath using that word!) with others who are interested in the odd form of ambient/electronic music that I create.

    One needn’t be concerned with the “scalp-counting” collecting of friends that also goes on there, mostly by those younger than us old farts.

    Here’s mine:
    http://www.myspace.com/usrsbin

    …but the good stuff is over here:
    http://usrslashsbin.angrek.com

  5. TEMPOVISION Says:

    “Las Esposas Del Amor” translation
    “The Handcuffs Of Love” en Espangnol sounds romantic oui?

  6. tempovision Says:

    It could also mean “The Wives of Love” wife and handcuffs means the same in Spanish,

  7. Would you be willing to do a phone interview with me and my partner for our music podcast “Robot Record Party”? It would mean an awful lot to us and our audience. Let me know if you’d be interested.
    gerry6516@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

