tales from a weary traveller 2

It was worse, way worse, way way worse than I thought….Perhaps it was Air Canada’s policy of seating the fattest people in one part of the plane, to balance it up or something. Or that they particularly chose the loudest snoring and evidently, stupidest, passengers to accompany me. Anyway, I was sandwiched in between five people who’d just done Europe in five days or something like that, and who proceeded to spend the next eight hours to Toronto loudly telling each other, and everyone else in earshot, what a bunch of rude assholes we Europeans are. The curious thing was that they were talking, through me as if I were invisible, as I was seated between two of them. Why would they do that?
What-Ever… As Mr Garrison would say, ‘there are no stupid questions, only stupid people’
So anyway, arrived in Canada, waited in line, for enough time for me to imagine the names and occupations of all the other three hundred people waiting in line and, of course, how they would look naked, something I find invaluable in those situations, then was pleasantly welcomed in to the country by a kindly immigration officer. No fingerprints, photos, guilty until proven innocent attitude, like a couple of other countries I can think of, just a big warm smile and a ‘Welcome to Canada’ that I truly believe he meant. For the next four hours at the airport and then the following five hours to LAX, I found all the Canadians that I spoke with, super friendly, and…. and I like this bit… they were speaking French to me and I could understand them and answer them, and that was almost surreal. It’s been at least ten years since I was in Toronto but at that point I was unable to speak French, but now that I can, I found it fun..Simple things amuse this weary traveller after some time.
So I arrived in Los Angeles thirty four hours after leaving my home. It was late… I listened to Continental in the car on the way from the airport to the hotel… the trip was the exact length of the album…weird….It pleases me to be back in the US..
Now, I’ll never get those thirty four hours back, they’re gone…so what are the positive things I have learned? I learned my laptop battery doesn’t last long. I learned to lose weight so I don’t get put in the fat person section of the plane. I learned that modern international travel is a slow and mind-numbing process, if you let it be. I learned to take earplugs with me. I learned that I probably need to spend more time in an anglophone society, as I’ve been talking my ass of since I arrived here in the US, and it’s doing me good. OK, the fact it is 81 degrees helped as well.
That’s all from the weary traveller, for I no longer feel like a weary traveller. Something has changed. Maybe it’s just being somewhere else. I always have made a point that somewhere else is my favorite place. I think I’m reconsidering that thought, as right here, right now is seems to work for me right here, right now….

9 Responses to “tales from a weary traveller 2”

  1. damn …

    a drop through Toronto, and I missed the chance to sweep you up for tea?

    well, just remember that this Nic from Portland, OR owes you one.

    cheers!

  2. Big Black Sex Cop Says:

    From there to here, and here to there, funny things are everywhere.

  3. Robin said: “I think I’m reconsidering that thought, as right here, right now is seems to work for me right here, right now….”

    Hmm, do I smell foreshadowing of you doing a Jesus Jones cover? Should I contact the GLJ Bassist and the JAMC Stylist? Hope yer trip back proves less weary.

  4. the unknown polack Says:

    i love the irony of YOU complaining about someone snoring…

  5. welcome back to the United States of Arachnophobia..it is warm in california, ain’t it!! why not stay for the winter!!! it’s even warm up here in sanfrancisco..

  6. Robin wrote …”Anyway, I was sandwiched in between five people who’d just done Europe in five days or something like that, and who proceeded to spend the next eight hours to Toronto loudly telling each other, and everyone else in earshot, what a bunch of rude assholes we Europeans are.”

    Les mots “Kettle”, “Black” and “pot” spring to mind, mais ne pas necessaire dans c’est ordre. ;o)
    (excuse the Franglais, mais je suis un “Yorkshireman”!)

    I concur with your assessment as to the “Attitude Canadien”, in my experience they are some of the friendliest, helpfullest people on the face of the earth.

  7. I would very much like to get in touch with Siobhan. She will probably remember me from LA Fitness in Golders Green; I was the fat lady who wrote songs and we got quite friendly back then. She gave me a copy of Life in Mono. I am so sorry to hear of her father’s death and send my condolences. Please ask her to email me if that is possible. As you will see if you look on my website I am no longer a fat lady; I lost six stone since she saw me.

    Good luck with Violet Indiana.

    Ruthie Pearlman

  8. Dan Shubin (kana) Says:

    Robbie,
    Just got the new TapeOp with your interview. I devour things slowly so no questions there yet but do want to know what that green guitar is. My first thought (without proper glasses) was, oh, he got himself a PRS 513! However, with the maple fingerboard and Fenderish headstock, I guess not, eh?
    Cheers,
    Dan

  9. I reckon you know that cocteautwins.com domain name has expired, needs to be renewed.

Comments are closed.

