Jetlag Dreams

So, finally an update.
Here I am back in Europa, where the seasons have changed during my absence. Grey skies are the new blue skies. And I’m going to bitch about it until spring.
San Francisco…. Well what can I say? First I can say to anyone who was at my show, that the film that I projected behind me while playing wasn’t meant to be ten minutes of colour followed by forty five minutes of darkness.. no, the projector failed.. It did flash on a few monochrome images from time to time but essentially it was…. not working…off…blank…devoid of light, leaving me in darkness and every so slightly annoyed. OK,I know that there are bigger problems in the world than some film not working but there is a beautifully large void between zen robin and totally fucking frustrated because the film didn’t work robin and this is where it’s getting shared in order to take all of it’s power away and, more importantly, bring me back to a point where I don’t want to throw up when I think about it….. When one performs, one would like it to be as good as one knows one can be. You’re all with me on that, right? . I mean you don’t want the whole thing to suck, right? .. Well, all I can say is endured the time on stage, even actually enjoyed a few moments of it, so there is progress after all.. (Can I just say it’s difficult to type this lying down on a psychiatrists couch)…

232995.jpg

me @ mezzanine, san francisco
it’s interesting to note the absence of colour from both the screen and my face…

The Real Deal
The real deal, however, was that I had a great time in San Francisco. My time was filled with lovely experiences and moments with old friends and new. I would like to share that, although I had a largely negative feeling about my part of the show, I had a really positive vibe about the other artists who were playing, Zoe Keating and Halou. I hope they didn’t find me rude by falling asleep during their soundcheck….. Maybe my snoring gently away in the background could have been off-putting, I know that it is for me when some random audience member may drift off during my set….Sods law prevailed and they had lovely visuals, the projector was still working, but a really bad sound problem, but it was so obvious a problem that most folks there understood, empathised and enjoyed their performances, performances which couldn’t have been easy under the circumstances…

The New Experience…
Here’s the best bit… I spent some time in the studio in SF. This was such a fucking special experience for me. Why? Read a few previous posts and it will become apparent that I have been creating in a vacuum for some time. Let’s just say I continue to have a few control issues.. 🙂 Anyway. through some strange forces of the universe, I found myself entering a recording studio to lay down a couple of ‘live tracks’ i.e. play a couple of things like I would do in a concert… But after entering the building, meeting my host, Tony, who’s fine establishment it is, Count, who I suspect to be the dark force moving and shaking things which rattle in my life, and who’s back I would get to know well, as I would later watch it while he fucked around on pro-tools trying to make something wonderful from what I gave him, I entered the studio and got a warm and wet feeling which I’m sure many boy gear sluts would have entering the same room… My guess is that Tony and Count are in a permanent state of stickiness, but I don’t want to go there. In short, I really enjoyed the session, because, well, they’re just damned talented people and most agreeable as well (it’s not always a given that talented people are agreeable). I found myself having lots of confidence in the session and was relieved that there was a great understanding, musically and technically between us. I found myself, gulp, letting go and letting them do their stuff. (I can assure any of my friends reading this I am not on drugs).. It seemed to open up a new realm of possibilities, a world where I could be the artist, and do it well, while working with others who do their shit well. OK, wait a minute, I’ve worked with good people before in my life, but not for a long, long time. I’ve been doing everything myself like a total freak, partly out of necessity, mind, as I have no one else to work with here, but basically because I love all the aspects of recording and writing and it has seemed so rewarding to do it all myself. (I’ll talk at another time about the dichotomy of having a little humility co-existing in my self with an ego the size of Belgium).
So… I had a great time with you both, Tony and Count. Thank you…
(oh and I did get the coffee, thanks K)

sfsoundworks.jpg

count & me
me & guitar
tony espinoza

@ sfsoundworks, san francisco, ca
october 2005
www.sfsoundworks.com

This whole affair was brought to you as part of ‘the plan’..
Thanks Jackie

19 Responses to “Jetlag Dreams”

  1. Oh, I’m glad to know I’m not the only one that has problems with projectors :P…they’re evil machines!!!.

    Listening to the Imperial album…

  2. the ‘plan’ continues to create massive system shake ups and i can’t possilby communicate nor spell how sickly effective it has been for reasons. it would seem that when forces collide that things will happen beyond the original master plan. it’s karmic payback time so wiggy and i thank you for being barry.

  3. also listening to ‘Imperial’, which i just purchased at Amoeba records on Haight Street……i was too busy enjoying the music with my eyes closed to even notice a problem with the screen…i do remember a bit with a moth..that was nice. also nice to hear you had fun in the studio…looks nice…Wally Heider Studios, later named Hyde Street Studios, made San Francisco the center of the U.S.Rock Universe in the late 60’s and 70’s…Jefferson Airplane, Crosby Stills and Nash, Grateful Dead, etc…i think that’s what they mean by ‘bringing the music back to San Francisco”…..fyi….jim, confirmed polygamist..not to be confused with ‘promiscuist’

  4. well i did notice you staring rather disapprovingly at the screen when it went blank/dark. no worries! loved the music anyway. and, yes, zoe and halou impressed as well. now about that guy moaning halfway thru the set….

  5. hello Mister Robin Guthrie,

    my a old fan of cocto.twins.

    i saw you on Elyse monmartre en 84 for the album ” victorialand” and the next time for ” milk an kiss” on The theatre of Olympia in Paris..yeah, the next time , on Paris..crying all the time on yOu.and before , on the Znith of paris ” four calendar caf”

    I hope to you.

    thanks a lot for all your works on cocteau’s twins.

    great challenge on your time, you have, mister, Robin.

    hi!or hellO.
    a never goodbye.
    falo.

  6. Yeah, my jamman just shit the bed last night by deciding to get a mind of its own and now randomly reset back to zero constantly, with random tempo glitches and it decides to loop in echo mode and other assorted random fuck ups……technology is glorious, but can be a major headfuck when it doesn’t cooperate with ‘the plan’…glad to see you being so productive and wearing the artist hat for a change instead of having to be master of all…which of course you are….and I have been playing Mysterious Skin repeatedly…it just gets better with each listen…it brings tranquility every time I play it….better than psychotherapy!…can’t wait to hear all the new material…bon jour!

  7. Yes, it seemed like the whole evening was fraught with technical difficulties. How frustrating!

    Nonetheless, Greg and I enjoyed your set immensely. We claimed a couch, got horizontal and floated away. It didn’t seem like the visuals were missing for too long, then again, I was totally altered by the music, so it’s all a bit fuzzy. 🙂

    Thank you.

  8. hi robin. i’ve been a fan of your blog for years. and i like your music too.

    it was lovely to hang out with you and chat during your visit.

    i have a blog with a similar url as yours. if you’d like to check it out, replace the ‘robin’ in your url with ‘dan’.

    you will not find any entries about yourself, only for fear of my life.

  9. Why no mention of you in the Gretsch Artist list? Have always seen you with one…

  10. hey..wheres Siobhan de Mare? …did she leave 😦 ? if not then im really really glad that you guys are finally playing around here .i hope shes singing ! becasue shes the reason why i got into trip-hop and hopefully and wish that i will someday start my own trip-hop band..yeah! alright talk to you guys later then lates ! Love

  11. don’t know about you, but i discover more and more that people MOSTLY do their shit well and collaborate/connect well if only would give them chance and suspend our judgements about them and the world. How to connect otherwise, how could newness come otherwise?? I mean Confidence is cool but why do they amalgamate confidence with ‘ego’all the time (i mean ‘ego’ stinks)

    Grey skies? Why don’t you just leave this Bretagne and move south? Here’s been 25 degrees for weeks and firther west in Biaritz like 27C!

    best luck
    R

  12. lichongyang Says:

    hi,i’m a fan of old time cocteau twins.in fact your music(i said your album )is very beautiful.it was different with cocteau period,that is succeed.
    i’m in xi’an china, xi’an has very long history,of course in other part of china
    please re: lichongyang@126.com
    i need go ,the next time i will write much more than today.
    maybe the grammar has some problems.i’m a english fristly learner!!

  13. Sir Guthrie,

    A true performer. I saw LAME Trent Resnor throw down his mike in a fit because he screwed up on “Down In It.” It’s the responsibility of not including the rest of the band in a mistake, but the band had to stop after his fit. When shit like that happens you have to continue where you should be. The show must go on! I commend you for that Robin. I’ll sea you at the Wiltshire Grand, L.A.!

    Guy Jamison Wood (A.K.A. DREXER)

    P.S. Did you know that we look exactly alike? People thought that I was you for a while on the Cocteau Twins Forum. Even I notice that with my artistic eye.

  14. robin….just woke up on this glorious Halloween morning…listening to part of your Mezzanine performance..do you mind if i post it on the forum??…anyway,,lest you get a complex of some sort or something…let me just reiterate…with all your obvious analytical intelligence, hand/eye coordination, musical talent, and Capricorn utilitarianism, i see no reason, with a little help from some friends, you couldn’t find the way to satisfy Mrs. Guthrie’s apparent need… for whatever it is….!!! just try to look at it from a more objective perspective…or something….i hate to keep harping about this…but……

  15. robin guthrie Says:

    jim….
    actually I would be extremely pissed off if you posted any recordings of my live work on a forum…..Live is live, it’s meant to be experienced… live. It’s a moment in time, which passes instantly and should be left in the past…That’s why I do it. Recording my live work, then posting it publically, is not only distasteful, dispespectful, but entirely missing the point….

  16. Robin,

    I’ve just done a google search that looked something like: “Robin Guthrie” 02r recording – hoping to gain some insight into your recording environment …
    – and well, I’ve found myself on your blog. The title of this particular blog entry caught my eye as I co-produced, recorded and mixed Departure Lounge’s ‘Jetlag Dreams’ record for your lovely Bella Union label. (I haven’t seen old Tim in well over a year – Linds lives about two blocks away) I simply wanted to say hello and take the opportunity to say that I am such an intense fan of your music and productions, that it’s nearly defined an aesthetic for my life. You’ve created a sonic beauty the like I’ve never found and it’s been a singular inspiration since I first heard Cocteau Twins in 1985. I can’t imagine my life without Cocteau Twins and your later work as a soundtrack. I’ve often said to friends and clients that no music has moved me more than yours. I realise this is probably a less-than-professional (nor discreet) approach to making my first-ever introduction to you … but what the hell … I have no shame blathering on a bit to someone who, frankly, changed my life. My sincerest thanks.

    It was nice to read the article featuring you in Tape-Op, as well.

    Cheers,
    Marc Chevalier-
    Nashville, TN.

  17. Hi Robin

    Back to the Gretsch guitar thing..

    Gretsch is my family’s business, and my uncle is currently the owner. Everytime I see you with a Gretsch guitar I get the chills because you have been a guiding force in my life musically. Saw you twice live in ’93 i think, in boston and again in chicago on the four calendar tour, and the box set truly is the soundtrack mine and my friends youth.

    Just wanna say thanks for playin my family’s guitars in case nobody has thanked you yet – its really appreciated.

    Take care,
    Lucas

  18. Hey Rob, {04-26-2007}

    A long time ago when I remastered all of my old music that I thought I lost and have added them to my iSound “Loud Artist” account that I made for me, © DREXER SHIFT-DRIFTER That has all rights my rights protection through the Judicial System that just gave you the with the cost of $230.00 for legal rites over that name and whenever I want aid at the County’s this countries guarding techniques now days. It’s been long enough for our Government that is always worse in the beginning of a fight against a new foreign evil adversary. Then we figure out how to play their game. Microwave three dimensional elemental colorized legends of an elemental list with a visual match based on the object, identified as the owner of my checking account, Notarized for my legal Copy Rite for any piece of my artwork or any new music can just be added under this copy written name with the 29 new songs that I just updated. A safe guarded investment to not be abused or ripped off for my effort of originality created sound that I like in ambient guitar work when it’s added to a beautiful sounding melody. Or strange stuff that is a trip like “PINK FLOYED: MEDDLE – ECHOS. The entire collection of 48 songs that have to be mine. Legal Copyright. Record Label Support with your signature there.

    I figured out how you make a constant sustain that changes when you change the note, the detail always confused me about the constant sustain sudden ability to change notes for a variation if it has a never ending sustain by a type of digital delay. A sustaining note that sounds like detailed feedback very delicately as such a decay of the dreaming sounds. Hang. that had good musical taste to understand that it isn’t a form of delay that I’ve been asking Pro Audio in music stores everywhere, when I was looking for a DOD sustain peddle of some kind. Never heard of it. The constant sustain that can a strong jar during the luggage roll, notes can be heard going off and the guy’s loading the luggage and hear I constant buzz when the vibrators sometimes get bumped and joke about the vibrators going off during the hear he can do all the time. The air tight seal lock. vibrator that the dude’s loading our luggage on a conveyer belt with a packer or two inside of maintenance for female masturbation. (the bag checkers down on the track out that weird window that they have a meaningless shaped plastic, in front of the window, instead of the windows that are mounted set on the level of the aircraft’s?

    I’ve asked for the effect in music store’s Pro-Audio and never heard of any effect that can be synthesized to a constant digital delay that stops and picks up at note changes some how? You use a vibrator held to the string with the cord in hand. FC litorisor lonely females held against the strings. Just noticed in a pay per view show, that is exactly what the rhythm guitarist used. A freaking vibrator!

    My Dad, from his parent’s that went to Juliards, used to be in a band for a few years around 1974 of good 1970’s Rock And Roll band called “GYRO” with my Dad, BUZZ WOOD as the singer songwriter of their 1974 band, “GYRO.” back stage warming up. I remastered the recording no lame, with lame effect for the remastering of the only recording on an analog caset tape from 1974 quality that was dubbed two more effect plug in rendering devices. that was dubbed twice with sound that only came out of the left speaker. I just recorded the analog through the left input to my USB Audio Interface for analog to digital traditional Folk music that still, to this day has a free festival for the gathering of all folk musicians from within the Berkshires and Adarondak rolling North Eastern mountains of Up State New York. 40 min. North of the State Capitol. My Dad’s Family is “Back East” and I say “Back West.” My Dad was good friends with Arloe Guthrie, Bob Dylen, Mel Gibson and my Dad and Uncle. Bob, Arloe, and Buzz (my Dad) used to always play where I started to perform at so many bars in Saratoga Spring’s New York. Caroline Street is a one way that us Cab drivers called the hill and park around corners to our main street and catch up to be thankful that Since they always played the main attraction traditional music of their songs from their original settlement in the “New World.” Peacefully with the Native Americans that we lived in piece with Each Other like a guest welcome to visit. And continued for generations more where ever they went. Our Military still uses the mass knowledge of of the Native American strategical tactics that is thought to be the most successful battle tactics that we trained men to know a massive amount of the Native American War Tactics. That were recorded by my ancestors of mythological existence that is good if you feel fine about it maid the U.S.’s concur of land in order to start shipping in heavy artillery. And the treason that signed were all hung except for one. Signed a Declaration for our New Governmental design by using the success of a Senate that speaks for the people as the success of the Roman Empire. And eliminated any form of Monarchy. With an easy resolving proof that the economical mathematic equation for an indestructible perfect Governing of The Citizens go inside original, Governmental ability genealogy began using them after being able how to cypher them?

    ~ MY DAD’S MUSIC FROM MARBLE HAT AND FOUR SONGS BY GYRO 1974 THAT I RENDERED A GOOD EQUALIZATION PLUG IN THAT WORKS WELL WHEN OPERATING A NOIS REDUCER WITH A SPECIAL PLUGIN EFFECT THAT IS MEANT TO WORK WITH THIS RECORDING FOR A FINAL CUT WITH PERFECT SOUND AND RECOVERY THAT MY MOM, DAD, MY DAD’S BEST FRIEND AND ALL OF THE FOLLOWERS OF GYRO IN THE 70’S KEEP TELLING ME THAT I TURNED SUCH AN AWEFUL RECORDING INTO EXACTLY HOW THEY SOUNDED WHEN THEY PLAYED SHOWS. AFTER ALSO RENDERING FOUR STEREO EXPANSION UNITS!!! WITH A SLIGHT AMOUNT OF ANY BACKGROUND NOISE, ON THE WORN OUT TAPE FROM 1974 THAT WAS DUBBED TWICE AND DIDN’T HAVE THE FOUR GYRO RECORDINGS ONLY CAME FROM THE LEFT SIDE. SO WHEN I RECORDED IT. I RECORDED HER LEFT SIDE. I HAD TO RECORD FROM , A RENDER INTO THE SOUND AND THE ART OF CREATING ENTERTAINING SONGS. ~

    ~ iSOUND © DREXER SHIFT-DRIFTER ~

    http://www.isound.com/_drexer_shift_drifter

    ~ MY DAD’S MUSIC AT THIS LINK STARTS OUT WITH A RECENT RECORDING THAT I REMASTERED IT TO SOUND BETTER SITH THE RENDERED DOUBLE STEREO EXPANSION UNITS OR SLIGHT REVERB. I DO A GOOD JOB AND FIND IT FUN TO DO ARE THE SAMPLE EDITING WITH AFFECTS AND BACK MASKING FADE IN AND FADE OUT TO ABSOLUTELY 0.00 ~

    http://www.isound.com/marble_hat

    ~ D R E X E R ~

    © DREXER SHIFT-DRIFTER ~~ Guy Jamison Wood.

    ~ MY PORTFOLIO ~

    http://blog.myspace.com/drexer

    ~ B O L T ~

    http://www.bolt.com/drexer

  19. I don’t know if you remember how bad I was always being hammered on in Cocteau Twins Forum that Lisa configured. Then I realized that all forums are born and by way of directional evolution. The good people that are there don’t fight back to the jerks and leave because this person happens to have compassion, no matter what the sacrifice that is for me to choose to live as long as I can before I die. That’s why they don’t bother over every little thing and don’t want to feel uncomfortable when I’ve always found that it’s normal in society to catch a woman’s eye people love. feeling this way.

    Rob,

    On this first page, there is a drexer saying things that are trying to joke about the person that they’ve decided to finally leave me alone, judging my lifestyle and felt flat on face while I was talking to them on the phone. good luck. It’s not me. Why does a man that loves getting anything that they want, loose the one they love the most.

    If that was to happen?

    Posted by: DREXER at October 30, 2005 02:16 PM

Leave a Reply

