Ongoing progress……..

Tomorrow I’m going to do a to-do list. It’s one of the things on my to to-do list.
So here’s what’s happening. I’m continuing with Continental and have finished two more tracks, Conquering the Romantic and The Day Star.. I’ll work a couple more days on this for the moment and then need to switch my priorities to preparing a few new things for some live shows which will be confirmed, hopefully, in the next day or two. What has been already confirmed is that I’ve been kindly invited to play Lumiere at the NFT (national film theatre) in London on December 2nd. For this show, as it really seems an appropriate place to be able to perform, I’ve decided to do a new cut of the film, and add about 15 minutes of unseen footage, thus giving me a few new scenes to try out a few of my newer pieces of music, namely something from Mysterious Skin and some things from 19 Crescent, along with, of course, some of the original Lumiere music and a couple of pieces from Imperial. And, I’d be a liar if I said I wasn’t going to play some Continental stuff..
That said, I’ll be moving into film editing and compositing mode for the next week or so, which is always a nice change of discipline after such a busy studio schedule…
Hopefully I’ll be in the US in a few weeks time, in the bay area, so if anyone has any plans for me to entertain them, just post you ideas.. I’m telling you now though, the two young miss guthries, need food and clothing, so while it may seem amusing to make a comment inviting me to play in your living room for free…don’t… (unless you are jack, who has earned the right, by living the plan just like Ruth Fisher.)
So… What else? Well I’m on the jury for the 49th Times/bfi London Film Festival – Sutherland Trophy which is a great honour for a marginal artist, creating marginal music, for a marginal public. Perhaps, we’re talking marginal movies, I don’t know. What Ever.. The point is, I get to watch 12 movies…and it’s called work..
I tell you, apart from the pay, which sucks, the lack of security, the mind-numbingly long hours, the tedium of waiting around for a soundman called Rick in Philadelphia to turn up, the annoyance of trying to release a disk that doesn’t have some glaring typo on the artwork, The frustration of having ex-cocteau twins stamped on every bloody concert poster, the loneliness of being a solo artist on stage, the responsibility of listening to peoples demos even though there’s not really a damn thing I can do to help them, the spending more hours in the office than in the studio………I still have the best job in the world….
BTW if the producers of any of the films at the festival would like to contact me about bribes, I’m all ears.

by the way, I changed my piece of shit 3com router for a netgear one…now, and I shit you not, my netgear network media player doesn’t work…..Some other mediocre piece of shit for me to deal with at some point.. No music in the house ’til then….

Midnight twenty five here.. bed..

15 Responses to “Ongoing progress……..”

  1. Can’t wait to hear all this new music of yours! What are the release plans for Continental, 19 Crescent, Lumiere, whatever else…?

  2. Robin, so sorry, you are just going to miss Mark and I in the Bay Area! We were just there for a week, for a wedding, I’m back in London now.

    Mark is with Our Friend In Santa Fe at the moment, but he goes back to the Bay Area on 1st October for just two days before coming back to London, will you be there then? If so I”ll have him email you.

  3. first of all, the plan onlys work when you enroll your friends into it. hence the real power of the plan comes from doing unreasonable things at unreasonable times because you can die tomorrow. it’s better to die in debt than die rich trying to protect something you can’t take with you. all the meanwhile, i am simply a patron of the arts and i am planning in moving to paris soon anyway.

  4. Hi Robin,
    please get in touch on your return from the States reference a show in Osnabrück (Germany)it would be great if you could play before XMas!!.
    All the best………..Alan

  5. hi Robin, i just red several entries from your blog–about these computer problems–did you fix it?
    Up to recently i was recording things on computer, not slaving external mixer and sequencer but with a software sequencer. It was going fine for some time–since i could just “paint/draw” the sounds’ dynamics and effects, envelopes, etc. But then same type of garbage like your clicks started to appear, plus, tracks being played unsynchronised although recorded in perfect unison.. (i’ve also got a fast machine and 24 b. sound card, so it’s not memory or disk space thing. (i secretly think that they make fucked up pilots to these cards that go into conflict with some DVD progs for creating virtual DVD drives like Alcochol etc..)

    I got so sick of all this shit that finally i figured that it takes too much concern, effort and energy and attention from the music making itself that i got this twenty four track external sequencer. This thing NEVER makes any “clicks” and never ever plays the tracks in any other way than the way they are recorded…!

    In the beginning i was a little at unease from my habit to swiftly shape sounds through manually drawing envelopes and stuff like on the computer, but then i found that i was mostly using these to “mask” mistakes and to make seemless joints and all kinds of make up stuff to repare lazy playing and fragmented recording. It wasn’t even about giving sounds “depth” and texture etc.

    Now with the external multytrax thing i really try to learn my phrazes better and like that there is no need for mending too much repared patches an’stuff. The plasticity of the parts’ dynamics work just fine with the manual sliders on the pre-master mixing, besides all these unlimited number of virtual trax can store hundreds of versions to chose from for a mix..i don’t even need automation on a mixer (although it can be done easily by slaving the multitrack machine to a midi mixer). anyway, hope you found your solution. goonite

  6. Ciao Robin.
    I love your music.
    I read that you produced a band called Colourkane.
    Can you tell me the title of the record?
    Sorry for my english…..

  7. Looking very much foward to hearing the new songs… will you be including the John Foxx collaborations or will those be a seperate release? Either way: coolness.

  8. hey Robin, i’ve seen Ruth Fisher feeling up the tomatoes at my local Gelsons market in Silverlake. she’s a doll.

    here’s to your date at the Wilshire Grand in November.

    should i see Ruth before then, i’ll be sure to invite her.

    xxx

  9. Hello Robin,

    I just saw m/skin, and was a tad traumatised 2 say the least, but the soundtrack is wonderful. Wonder if u get any mail from down here in oz ?

    spaceboy

  10. Robin what do you know about CHILE…please, come to our country soon, best whishes.

  11. hi robin & the rest of the stalking fans ~ > i put “head over heels ” on my tuesday blog, i feature 3 cd ‘s i listened to during the week and have had alot of nice commments about what a great LP it still is ~ even today it kicks ass – thanks !

  12. robin guthrie Says:

    I’d love to go to Chile.. All I need is some plane tickets, a hotel, a nice place to play, a projection system and some people to be at the concert and a little cash……

  13. robin guthrie Says:

    same for australia

  14. robin guthrie Says:

    same for everywhere actually….

  15. Allison Trump Says:

    This is cool, you have to try it. I guessed 43266, and this game guessed it! See it here – http://www.funbrain.com/guess/

Leave a Reply

