It wasn’t retirement, it was just a dream……..

Summer has taken a rainy and cold turn that I can’t deal with. It may fuck with my suntan, and as I am both Scottish, and actually have a tan this is a big problem…No, I jest. It’s just a roundabout way of saying the holidays are over and I’m geting back to work after an incredibly long break and the nicest summer I’ve had since 1996, which was one that stands out. Come to think of it 2002 was pretty notable as well as I got to leave England, but, as I suspect many of us have lots of shit to catch up with after the break I will shut the fuck up and get to the point. It’s 2am here and it’ll be 3am when I finish writing this.
Sooo.. I’ve resigned myself to the fact that I’ll spend the rest of the week catching up with email, so that’s not a problem, just a chore. I’m not suited much to sitting in an office communicating with individuals but I’m finding just enough humility to be grateful that my inbox is full and not empty. How I would love to be in the studio tonight (doing something I believe I do well) instead of communicating with others about what work may be coming up and generally looking after business (something I feel less able to)…
But my summer has definitely inspired me as I travelled roughly 8000km around this lovely continent that I call home (for the moment) seeing things unseen before, spending time with lovely people and generally experiencing life outside music. I think of it as recharging of my batteries, but perhaps not with the more ‘urban influences’ of years gone by but more gentle ones. Don’t worry, I’ll never be a tree hugging fucking hippie, it’s not in my make up, but I can happily say that for a few weeks I absorbed lots of shit that one cannot if one has a blackberry in one’s pocket..
I’ve come back to a few things which are newsworthy the first of which is that Mitsuo Tate has released his first album, under the name Flat 7 titled Lost in Blue. More details at http://www.flat-7.com

lost-in-blue-sm.jpg

I mixed a track on the album, or maybe single, I don’t know, but Mitsuo tells me that there is a typo on the album artwork and that I’ve been credited for something else. That happened to me years ago with a miscredit on an AR Kane record, Remixes where I was credited with some really tacky house mix and someone else was credited with mine… (this vanity is killing me).. Anyway, get your credit cards out and buy Mitsuo’s album. Also of note, the legendary Russell Mills provided the artwork…
What else…?
I got this really cool picture of Harold Budd in my mailbox..

Harold-Budd-sm.jpg

I never realised he didn’t have earlobes before – Probably explains his genius…
I have earlobes..
mmmm..

One Response to “It wasn’t retirement, it was just a dream……..”

  1. Hello, i only want you to know that every day of my life im going to enjoy your music till i die…and after that….too

    Adrian
    from guadalajara jalisco , Mèxico
    i hope you can write me some day it could make me very happy, and thanks four your sounds

Leave a Reply

