trying not to be self effacing…

but… well you know sometimes when 24 hours of your life can seen like, well 24 weeks…. The story starts like this. So, I’m on my way to paris which is already a three and a half hour drive from chez moi, well not exactly paris, but beauvais, a two hour more distant airport that the lo-cost airline that flies to budapest flies from. And after around about 125 km a sudden thought enters my head, sudden like the lightning in he storm that I’m driving through. “Why did you leave the DVD of the lumiere film in the ‘studio’ computer when you were rehearsing”? So, with a great deal of acceptance and 12 step work (the steps that is, that my personality allow me to use……) I turn my vehicle around, face the humiliation almost certainly proffered by my loving family members, and get the fuck back on the road. Ho-Hum.. (oh, and I picked up my pasport as well which I’m sure was useful….)
So cut to six or so hours later, I arrive at beauvais, totaly freaked by the DVD incedent and decide it would be wise to make a safety copy of the dvd which was, all in all, probably a good thing to do. So I sat im my hotel room until the wee small hours copying DVD’s. .
The next morning I had my guitar strings taken away from me by airport security, as I obviously appeared like someone who may have garroted a flight attendant. I had a few other things in mind for the, very beautiful, flight attendants but, I don’t think garroting ever crossed my mind. (well if it did, it was just a passing thought).
I was met at the airport by the promoter, Imre and his delightful wife. The fed me with some Hungarian food which would have had Dr Atkins turning in his grave and then we went to soundcheck. Well soundcheck is a bit of a professional word, which doesn’t seem to exist in the hungarian language but, we’ll we all went to the venue and… waited around. Amber Smith, who were also playing turned up and I met Imre (they have a scarcity of prenoms in hungary) who is a lovely, ariculate soul and he pointed out to to me all the faults in the mixes I had done for them recently… No, he was really lovely and, even though he entrusted me to mix his band and I missed out a guitar and made his voice out of sync, he didn’t try to hurt me, something I feel sure I would have done if I were in his shoes..
So after being in the venue for several hours and, the soundcheck, after the soundman had turned up, I did start to ask about the film projection. A beautifully large screen was these but of course the guy who was operating the projector was on some hi-carb dumpling cookery course or something equally as hungarian, so when I was asked for the DVD of lumiere to test on the system it was just as the doors were opening. I swaggered over to my computer case ………. That was the last swaggering I’ll be doing for a while…. One can’t swagger with one’s head either a : up one’s own ass, or b : hung low in shame. Somehow I managed to fill all the criteria last night as I had, at this point, quite obviously left both the DVD and the safety copy in the hotel the night before….
oops
FACT : Did you know that you can buy blank DVDR’s in gas stations in budapest at 10pm?
I didn’t, I mean I can’t buy GAS in gas stations here at 10 pm…..
Amber Smith finish their set, while I’m still burning a lumiere DVD in the bar, signing autographs at the same time with the sure knowledge that maybe no one will want them signed later…..
From what I saw and heard Amber Smith‘s set was lovely, the band playing acoustically and being augmented my a string quartet
OK, the next part is less detailed… I walked on stage and started to play.. A very poorly projected verion of lumiere was behind me (I wasn’t cross at all, I was happy something was there).. But still, the visuals sucked, after all that stress………. I, well I’m not exactly the most impartial observer, even athough I do often feel like an observer when I play, I was happy to play and I think I was OK. People semed to like it and I sold out of my CD’s for sale… So….I leave it like that…. hmmmm, I need a tour manager

9 Responses to “trying not to be self effacing…”

  1. Zsolt Galantai Says:

    Hello Robin

    I’m a guitarist from Budapest. Your work always produced a great effect on me. Thank You very much. By the way I could buy the very last Boss Dimension C in a hidden part of Spain 6 months ago. It has really beautiful sound. I hope You will have more possibilities to discover the hidden cultural values of Budapest next time. Otherwise the hungarian gastronomy is excellent, it is not for Dr Atkins and plastic chicks.Traveling, hotel, fast soundcheck, running make it impossible to sit back and enjoy the best, typical tour feeling.
    Thank You for Your great work and amazing guitasr sounds! God bless You!
    Regards Zsolt

  2. O an untoward incident…
    Thank goodness finally without incident…
    I never doubt that Robin is excellent! ^_^

    I’m sorry that my English is not good enough to completely understand Robin’s words. But I am always trying my best to read every word and every sentence Robin types here. It’s not easy for me, but I must say that it’s really enjoyable!

  3. Tori Spelman Says:

    two words: spell check

  4. In my opinion,you can keep the swagger no matter what!

  5. Wow, sounds like quite the adventure you had! 12 steps indeed! The ever challenges we face in patience and humility. I am grateful you at least enjoyed yourself. At least it sounds like you enjoyed yourself, despite your DVD adventure. 🙂

  6. Just thought I’d drop a line to tell you that you and Harold Budd got a very nice review for the soundtrack in “Dagen Nyheter” the leading morning paper here in Sweden 😉

  7. Hi Robin,

    I never got chance to see your solo shows, but I was very impressed when I saw Violet Indiana at the Night and Day Cafe in Manchester in 2001.

    I was just wondering what kind of set-up you use live – are you playing along to pre-recorded backing tracks, or is a lot of it solo guitar?

    Do you get chance to improvise a lot on stage?

  8. From Chile Robin…Do you remember to the band LUCYBELL ?

    Good Luck !!!

  9. I was in Budapest when you played… but we couldn’t find the frigging place you were playing at. Hope you managed to see some of this gorgeous city? And…wasn’t the weather fewking boiling when you were there?!

    Keep up the fantastic work
    Russ (Clifton, Bristol)

Leave a Reply

